Yesterday after the box was rather uneventful here which is much to my liking. We did have some rain and some ugly clouds, but no real storms and for that I’m grateful. I’ve seen what even a small not really a tornado can do and I am so happy to be out of the tornado belt. Of course, I moved into the hurricane belt, but we aren’t to that season yet.

I got some writing and editing done yesterday as well which made the day somewhat productive as well as languid and safe. Then, because I can’t NOT look, I looked.

Today’s WOD was simply going to be ludicrous if not ridiculous and/or completely impossible. I have seen this thing before and I didn’t like it then, either. But my goal is to go to the box every Tuesday and that would mean I am supposed to be there today. So I set my alarm and had difficulty falling asleep, was up at 2 AM for no good reason other than to obsess about this, and made it to the box all tired and cranky.

Warm-up was a 1000 meter row and I got that done in under 6 minutes which is better than it used to be, so that was nice. We then spent ten minutes stretching everything because today’s WOD was going to use everything and we needed to be limber and loose and warm and crazy to even attempt this.

The WOD as written:
“Filthy Fifty”
For Time:
50 Box jump, 24″/20″
50 Jumping pull-ups
50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood
Walking Lunge, 50 steps
50 Knees to elbows
50 Push press, 45 pounds
50 Back extensions
50 Wall ball shots, 20/14#
50 Burpees
50 Double unders

For the love of God – what fresh new hell is this? Well, it isn’t fresh at all. It is an old WOD and beloved by sadists, masochists, and jocks everywhere or something like that.

Kim was coaching and she assured me we could scale this. We talked about doing some things for 20 reps and some for 30 or doing all of them at one rate or another. She left that part up to me. I chose to do 25 of each thing which it turns out, was actually doable for me. Glad I didn’t weenie on the 20 reps that was on offer. I did the tortuous twenty-five.

Box jumps were on a 14″ box and I managed to get in 14 before I started the beeping crap. I did 11 to finish, but I beeped through the last few which meant I had to wait longer for my heart rate to get back down before the next move.

I had never tried a jumping pull-up but I managed to actually do them. Probably with very little finesse, but they got done. I did 8, 9, 8 to get them in. KB swings were with a 10# KB and were 13, 12 and done. Walking lunges always just beat my ass. I thought I could do them in two swoops, but it took three anyway. But my last pass was just 2 more so I could immediately start the next thing.

I had an option of doing just sit-ups here, but I did knees to almost chest level which is much higher than I could get last time I tried this. Then I could almost get them parallel to my waist, so this is better. Three sets with 9, 8, 8. Push press was with a 22# bar and 9, 8, 8 and very wobbly on the last two. Supermans were switched out for the back extensions.

My nemesis is the wall ball (see next round) and I used the baby ball. I can really break parallel on my squat with the lighter weight and really hit the mark with my throw. But they make me sick. I keep closing my eyes and that helps some, but they still make me sick and they make me beep. I did 7, 6, 6, 6 to get these damn things done.

While struggling with wall balls, I asked Kim if I could just do 25 push-ups instead of burpees and she said yes. I don’t know if I could have actually managed 25 burpees here. I did big boy hand release push-ups 9, 8, 8 and staggered over to the jump rope. I didn’t even attempt a double under. I might be able to do these at some future date, but I simply do not have the power to do them now. And here the ratio is four to one, so I did 50, 50 on the single jumps and finished in 27.07.

My guaranteed to hold rubber band gave out about half way through the WOD. My pony tail was still in place, but the looped hair was unlooped and hanging down my back and sticking to me and swatting me with each jump. I guess girly girls with long hair aren’t supposed to be this awesome. But, I am.

295455_567747169914196_839980736_n

