Great weekend where I ate too much and most of it food I don’t usually have. I had pizza Friday night, brownie/ice cream/whipped cream/chocolate sauce on Saturday night, and a whole bag of potato chips was in front of me on Sunday so I have no idea how many I had. I did have two hot dogs. I could have stopped at one. But I didn’t.

But I got to play with the babies for Mother’s Day and that was a good thing. They are all getting so big. I’m used to my sons being adults, but it really difficult to see their kids growing up so quickly and turning into big people.

I managed to not sleep in the car which meant I could get to bed at a reasonable time so I could get up in the middle of the night to go work off some of the fat I had all weekend long. Since we grilled out for a late lunch, I wasn’t hungry for any real supper. I did eat a bit, but it wasn’t high protein fuel. I had a hardboiled egg and a grapefruit. Which might have combated some of the bad stuff I ate all weekend.

I looked at the WOD last night and cringed. Really? Pistols? Me? Why doesn’t someone just hold one to my head and pull back the trigger?

But, I went to the box anyway because it is all scalable. Lord help me, it needs to be.

First thing I noticed was that Ricky was cheating on us. He was at the 5 AM class. What is happening to the world? He said he had to work early today. Then, Candace didn’t show up. Good grief. I was the only 6 AM regular and I am highly irregular. Luckily, Ed, Steve, and Todd were there so I wasn’t the only nitwit athlete. How strange.

Warm-up was a 1000 meter row and I started last and finished last. Then inchworm with a push-up down the mat and I had to have a little break in the middle to stop beeping. End with dislocates and passthroughs.

The WOD as written:
Snatch Complex Time! Spend 15 minutes working up to a max in this complex:
Hang Snatch (just below knees) + Snatch (from the floor)
– You must maintain your grip on the bar between movements.
6 Rounds for Time:
10 Pistols (alternating Left/Right)
20 Wall-balls 20/14#
30 Double-unders (If you don’t have double-unders, each attempt counts as one)

I don’t jerk well and no one wants to see my snatch. I just don’t have the move down. I practiced with a PVC pipe. Today, Ryan was coaching and he thought it might work better with a bit of distributed weight. Maybe he should fill a PVC pipe with cement. I mentioned the possibility of sand and capping the ends. He thought that would work. Let’s see. I started asking for this sometime back in September. I bet it never happens.

I eventually worked with a couple 3# dumbbells mostly because I couldn’t find the 5# ones in the mix and I didn’t want to do 8# because I’m a weenie. But I got the move down a little better and some day I’m going to be able to really do a snatch with a bar and then in some far future date, it will even have plates on it. All I have to do is keep trying. “Do or do not; there is not try.” Yoda

No one could really do the pistols. We all hung on to the rings and dropped and powered back up. I’m sure I used my arms more than I was supposed to, but I tried using my leg as much as possible. It certainly wasn’t pretty but I wasn’t sure I could do that at all. I tried. I did it. I mentioned that I might just go to squats in later rounds. I didn’t.

Wall balls make me sick. I mean that. Literally, they make me sick. Up and down makes me sick anyway and that close to the lined wall just aggravates the whole thing. I used the baby ball and could really squat and really hit the line. I would close my eyes until after the throw and then open them to see to catch the thing and not have it hit me in the face. It helped a little.

The first round I managed 12 before I stopped. After that, I would do 7, 7, and 6 and let my heart rate come back down after each bit. At one point, Ryan was urging me on and I pointed to my watch. He came to look. I was at 167 and he said it was a bit high. I know I spent between ⅓ and ½ of my time today trying to have a heart rate compatible with life. I also know it is coming back down quicker. It just isn’t quick enough and it is the one thing that irritates me the most.

I opted to do 90 jumps for the 30 double unders I can’t do. I did not go with the 120 jumps but pretended I was still in Hilton Head and just tripled the number instead of quadrupling. I get to make my own stuff up.

Since I kept the numbers the same for each round, Ryan asked me if I wanted to cut back on the rounds. I thought I might be able to get in five rounds. But everyone else was done and I was just finishing up round four. It was 26.25 when I finished. Ryan came over and said I had been working a long time and it would be okay to stop at that round. I agreed.

I don’t know if was too much arms on the pistols or too many wall balls. But when I got my morning coffee poured, I tried to pick up a brand new gallon of milk (8 damn pounds) and it hurt my arm. I’m such a beast.

140456082099332589_FXgsa6WR_c

