Like every day before I’m scheduled to hit the box, I looked at the WOD. I used to do this in order to see what the moves were and to look for video clips when I had no idea what we were doing. That is happening less often now, but I still look to see what nonsense is scheduled for the next day. That way I know if I’m supposed to bring my jump rope.

Well, that’s what I tell myself. But usually I just look to see what’s expected so I have a chance to figure out how I’m going to scale it so that I can do it. I usually just drop the weight and then try to do all the crap the really fit, young, able athletes are going to do. I know I could get away with less, but really how much less do I want to do. If I’m going to get up in the middle of the night, I should just suck it up buttercup and do what the big kids are doing. But I’m already always last anyway, so it’s not like I’m slacking.

When I woke up it was already 60⁰ out there which doesn’t sound hot until you start working and then it is. I opted to wear my I CAN shirt anyway and I don’t really know why. I did hunt all over this morning for some headband things to keep the sweat out of my eyes, but I have no idea if I threw them out or just hid them on myself. Either way, they remained out of reach.

I was talking to Ricky while the 5 AM class was clearing out and complained (who knew?) about my heart rate always escalating. While I was looking for the headbands, which was basically just walking around the bedroom and opening drawers, it was 116. Ricky, the distance runner, said his resting heart rate can be in the 30s. I think this is a big part of my problem. I have a resting heart rate in the high 80s.

Warm-up today was a 500 meter row – start out nice and slow and get a bit faster at the end. I’m always nice and slow so that wasn’t a problem. Then lunge down the mat, next was 10 cherry pickers, lunge down the mat with hands overhead, end with dislocates and passthroughs. I was so dizzy that I did the dislocates while sitting on the floor. I did NOT celebrate Cinco de Mayo. I swear.

The WOD as written:
15 Minutes to find a 3 rep max Good Morning
For Time:
Bar weight is 95/65#
Start at one end of the mats.
20 Back Squats
Walking Lunges to the other side
20 Overhead Squats
Walking lunges back to other side
Immediately following:
3 Rounds:
Row 250 meters
15 Kettlebell Swings 23/16 kg.
Score is total overall working time.

Being unsure of any move ever, the first thing I asked was how to bail. I remember these vaguely from some time in the past, but I don’t know if I ever knew the answer. That made Coach Jason a little nervous. I make him nervous anyway.

I started with a baby bar and kept adding 2.5# to each side incrementally until I ended with a 57# good morning with three reps. I didn’t know I could do that.

I knew that I really had to scale this WOD. I cut back the reps to 15 each for the first part. I would just use 22# bars. I hurt my knee with the weighted lunges and really didn’t want to do all that again. It is still a bit iffy sometimes and it just doesn’t seem like I should push it. So I would lunge down the mat without weight. But I put the second baby bar at the other end to try to do the overhead lunges with it. I also had a PVC pipe there. I managed the back squats without problem. I did two really crappy not breaking parallel overhead squats and Jason and I both agreed I should switch to the PVC pipe. I got back to the other end and began the second part of the WOD.

Before I began, I scaled the reps for this to 12. I did the 250 meter row without a problem but I tried to get some speed and so even with my bitty baby 10# KB, I had to do six and six because I simply couldn’t do them all together. So my strategy for the next two sets was to row slower and keep my heart rate closer to 155 at the end so that I could manage all 12 at one time. I could waste time by rowing slowly or waste time by resting in the middle of the KB swings. I opted to waste the time slowly rowing. I ended with a really high heart rate but was finally done in 13.50.

I wish I knew a way to get my heart to beat more efficiently. This is nuts. My arms and legs aren’t giving out, I’m anoxic and really can’t get the oxygen to where it is needed because my heart rate is just a mess. I’m sure that I sit too much and I have done so for far too many years. I don’t know how to repair the damage I have done to myself by poor choices.

74104_314866101959028_404196997_n

