I figured that with Thursday so light, Friday would be rough. I knew better than to look but I looked anyway. Holy Mary, Mother of God, what fresh new hell is this? And then I thought, well at least Candace can carry my sorry, old ass. That’s what she gets for telling me to show up on partner day.

It was a drizzly morning and only 61⁰ out there. But I didn’t pay attention to that and dressed like it was the middle of the summer because I knew I was going to melt. I did however, also know I had to get in there before I would start melting and so I threw on a jacket.

Warm-up was a 1000 meter row which was the entire WOD for yesterday. However, we did not have to race today and were actually told to start out slow and build up until we were entirely warm. It took me much longer than yesterday to get that 1000 meters out. In fact, I was at about 6.5 minutes for my time and the two guys waited for me to finish before we moved on to the next thing.

Lunge down the mat with a PVC pipe held overhead. I did it again and was still wobbly, but no one is grading me on pretty. I just have to get it done and eventually I will have enough core strength and stability to worry about the pretty part. Now I have to worry about the surviving part. When I first started CrossFit, I used a PVC every time – as a crutch so I wouldn’t fall over. I’ve improved greatly.

We did some dislocates and passthroughs and then a bunch of wrist and arm stretches to help us with the WOD we were going to be enjoying. We racked just a bar and worked on breaking up some of the ouchies from all the arm work we did for the week.

The WOD as written:
Pause Front Squats
– 12 sets of 2 @ 75% of your 1 RM Front Squat
– There is a 3 second hold at the bottom. Hold each other accountable so that everyone stays down there for the entire 3 seconds.
You know what time it is…
Partner WOD Friday!
Double Fran:
42-30-18
Thrusters 95/65#
Pull ups
– Split up the work however you want. Only one partner working at a time.

I think the coach’s name is Jason. Kim was there and he is a wannabe coach and really does a good job of watching us and making sure we aren’t moving incorrectly. When it was time to put weight on the bar, I went and got two five pound plates. I did mention that I wasn’t sure I could really hold for three seconds at the bottom because my knee is not as young as it used to be. When he saw me adding plates to the bar, he asked if I was sure about them. I told him my max rep was 42# and so 32# would be 75%. He looked at me skeptically and I said, “I’m old” and he said he was thinking in the other direction. Not that I should be doing more, but perhaps I should do less.

I tried it and lo and behold, I really could hold for three seconds at the bottom. I did accordion forward on some of them. I got the bar resting on my chest and just holding it with two fingers, holding my arms more parallel to the ground, and doing my best to stay upright. I managed all 24 of those. I had my shoes off to keep me off my toes and that definitely helps.

Then on to Fran. Candace did not show up today and I had fully intended to have her carry my old, fat ass. But she wasn’t there so that didn’t work out so well. The two guys were partners and I did Fran on my own. But I scaled it. I thought I had done it before and I would compare time. There were two other WODs back in the past with the same numbers for reps but different moves. That must have been what I was thinking about.

Anyway, I cut off three reps for each round so I was 18 – 12 – 6 for the reps and I used just a 22# bar and did ring rows. If I had a partner, I would have been resting enough for the partner to do their half of Fran and my missed reps, or I might have been able to hit a few more thrusters. I don’t know if I could have hauled myself up any more on those ring rows. My time was 9.59 (the guys finished their combined Frans in 9.55).

I have no idea how you manage to do Fran in three minutes – I think it took me longer than that to do just the first round. Perhaps, some day I will be able to break twice that amount. As long as I don’t get cranky or discouraged and as long as I keep coming back, I keep getting better which is all I can ask for.

72928_320607218051583_99037982_n

