Even though I didn’t do a single box jump and just did step ups, I had sore legs all weekend. I would get the roller out and try to work out the stiffness, but my legs still hurt. It was better by Sunday, but I could tell I hadn’t been at the gym much.

Bright and early, back at it again and Ricky was there and Jason showed up. I haven’t seen him in ages. He came back while I was away. Ryan was coaching and he said he thought I had quit. I scoffed. I was just too sick to breathe, which isn’t the same. Candace was there, the new guy didn’t show, and neither did Ken – probably worried he would get stuck with me as a partner again.

Today was working toward PRs and so we had a warm-up of a thousand meter row and then dislocates and passthroughs and whatever else we thought would make us warm enough to do the moves as required.

The WOD as written:
CrossFit Total:
1 rep max Back Squat
1 rep max Strict Press
1 rep max Deadlift
– You have the entire class to establish these max reps. Warm up to your maxes as you feel necessary. Take no more than 3 attempts at your maximum weights.

My previous max for a back squat was 47# and my hope for today was to break the fifty pound mark. I started with the baby bar and kept increasing with five pound increments to 27, 32, 37, 42, 47 and then got crazy and went zipping past that. I did 52, 57, and ended at 62#. I couldn’t believe it. That was much more than I had hoped for. That is 46% of my body weight.

I had no idea about this strict press stuff. I don’t think I have even tried it before. I can do a push press and I’m okay with the whole dip and drive thing. However, without any dip and all drive, I’m left with nothing but the spaghetti stuff of my arms without help from anything else. I started with the bar and made it. I added five, then ten, then fifteen. I managed the 37# and tried the 42#. I tried twice and I simply couldn’t get it over my head.

When I was talking to Cheri yesterday, we were talking health and fitness. She has done so much and was slipping backwards. We made a way for her to be accountable and hopefully this will work. I knew today was going to me max efforts and I said my goal for the deadlift was to break 100 pounds. She said that it was almost what her daughter weighed.

My nice niece has been working really hard to lose weight and get in shape. She in a diminutive woman (which is the nice way to say short) and has done an amazing job. She has scaled down and toned up.

So, my former max effort with the deadlift was 92#. I got there in just a few lifts as we were running late. Then I added another ten pounds and broke the three digit barrier. I was at 102# but I really, really wanted to add another ten. I got the weights and Ryan checked my form to make sure I was getting the most bang for my buck. We tweaked a bit and I heaved. I did it. I lifted 112# damn pounds off the floor. That is one Niece or 83% of my own body weight. I’m getting closer and closer.

When I started CrossFit, I could do nothing. I know there are people who can do so much more than I can, but that’s not the point. The point is that I can do so much more now than I could back then. And since I started out so minimal, I have many more PRs and MEs to accomplish.

And I will. Slowly and surely, but I will.

65546_333155670130071_97102360_n

