By the time I got home from work on Tuesday, I was so stiff and sore I could barely move. My left knee ached just sitting. My legs could support me but walking was not at all graceful. I was so tired from not sleeping I really just wanted to collapse and get the day over. I did not run after work. I was simply unable to push myself to do it. I did take a nice hot bath after dinner and fell asleep in the tub. Luckily, I guess, some telemarketer called the land line and the noise woke be up before I fell over into the water. I did feel better.

Wednesday is my day of rest and I really needed it. I slept nine hours. My car was still at the shop anyway, but I could have used Dick’s if I really wanted to go to the box. But the box has what I call Wicked Wednesday and it is always a really hard workout.

Wednesday’s Wicked WOD
15 minutes to find the longest amount of time you can hold a Handstand
-Handstand must be performed facing the wall. The only things that can touch the wall are your nose and toes
10 minute AMRAP:
10 Ring dips
-Shoulders must make contact with the rings or else the rep doesn’t count.
10 Ring Rows
-Rings must make contact with your chest each rep. If you get tired, move your feet back a little to make sure you can get quality reps.
Extra Credit:
30 Turkish Get-ups with a weight that is heavy. Just don’t drop it on your face!

I can do a zero second handstand, I can’t even do more than three banded ring dips, and those Turkish get up things were too much for me the last time I saw them. I was glad I wasn’t supposed to be there. I ran around the block after work and picking up my car. I did 30 second intervals and made it around the block and then coughed and choked on the pollen I breathed in for the next hour.

Now for today. The CrossFit Open is now in session. Each Wednesday at 5 PM the world at large will post a workout. There will be men/women and masters men/women WODs posted. Each person who wishes to compete will have until Sunday at 5 PM (I don’t know what time zone) to post their score to the site and therefore elite athletes can compete against each other even from different boxes.

The WODs are created to be of a Games nature.

The WOD as written for me was the men/women WOD given at the open. As I have mentioned, I’m old. I’m old enough to be one of the master people over at corporate CrossFit. Those scaled options were not even posted at my box. I guess this is supposed to be fun, but I’m a Little Old Lady who has been at this for six months and sat for the 18 years before this doing pretty much nothing. It is unreasonable.

I called Craig to find out how this works. His box has a WOD for today, scaled to three versions (just like always) and he has this Open WOD as an option for those who wish to compete and open gym times for them to manage to do so. I wanted to make sure this was just a once a week thing we were going to be doing at my box.

The WOD as written:
2013 CrossFit Games Open!
13.1:
17 minute AMRAP of:
40 Burpees
30 Snatch, 75 / 45 lbs
30 Burpees
30 Snatch, 135 / 75 lbs
20 Burpees
30 Snatch, 165 / 100 lbs
10 burpees
Max rep Snatch, 210 / 120 lbs

The owner has said she would be there to verify the one guy I know there who can do this. Another guy posted on the webpage “Sorry I’m gonna miss this one…the RX numbers are retarded!”

I understand wanting to push oneself to the limit. But not everyone who comes in is at this level. And to expect this as the only WOD for a day is really absurd. Thankfully, I will be out of the country for three weeks and don’t have to deal with this too much. But honestly, this is not meant to be for everyone. CrossFit is scalable, the Games are for the elite.

The last two snatch weights are higher than my deadlift weight. That is 100 burpees total. I love watching elite athletes. I’m not there now and don’t see me ever getting to this place. I don’t understand the concept behind making people who work really hard and are healthier and fitter for the time spent at the box and then making them feel like crap for being unable to do the WOD.

No, it was not feasible.

No, it was not feasible.

