A couple days off helped my knee a bit. However, on Saturday I wasn’t completely CrossFit-less. We went down to watch CrossFit Hilton Head have their second annual Polar Bear WOD. The proscribed was a 200 meter bear crawl with partners switching as needed, then 100 squats for each partner, then partner carry back 200 meters and then 100 pushups shared between partners, repeat except at the end no pushups but jump into the freezing ocean until your butt was wet.

Scaled was a 200 meter sprint, 50 squats, lunge back with partners sharing, 50 burpees with partners sharing, repeat and end after lunges with going in the ocean. Even that was more squats than I can do without puking and more burpees than I can do. Craig didn’t participate, he was the time keeper, but at the end, he and I went into the freezing ocean. He stayed for five minutes, I just got wet and out. It was cold. It was also fun.

Today’s warm-up was a 1000 meter row, lunge down the mat, and then running back and forth, sideways and backwards between obstacles for the length of the mat.

The WOD as written:
15 minutes to establish a 1RM Push Press
10 minute AMRAP:
1 Wall Walk (chest & thighs to wall and floor)
10 Weight Overhead Walking Lunges (45/25) (arms locked out)
5 Knees to Elbows
10 Push Presses (95/65)

I managed to add a little weight to my push press this morning. I began with the bar, added 5, then 10, then 15, then 20, and finally 25 pounds to the bar. I was struggling at the end and even though there was still 2 minutes left, I didn’t have any more oomph. However, 47# is heavier than my last push press.

So, the entire WOD was over my head, as it were. I held a plank position and lifted my hands alternately to my shoulders for ten, then did just lunges, my knees were past my waist, but not up to my elbows, and I did push presses with 27# and managed to do three rounds and 16 moves for my AMRAP (as many reps as possible) in ten minutes. My heart rate was consistently high and this was just a whole lot more work than it might look like.

So, here I am, back at home and my water bottle is at the box because I forgot it there. My knee is wrapped and doesn’t feel too bad.

All in all, I’m fairly proud of myself this morning. I increased my push press max and I managed the planking and hand lift things. There are times when I ask myself what I’m doing this at my age, and then myself answers …. Getting stronger. I’m getting stronger.

194428908884837278_aI5aQSsJ_c

