I was up at the crack of the middle of the night yet again. 4:11 is just too early. Ain’t nobody got time for that! But there I was, awake again. I tried valiantly, desperately to fall back to sleep for another hour of shut eye, but to no avail.

I looked at the WOD last night and it was overwhelming. I don’t mean it was looking a little difficult for me or that I might have to work really hard. I mean it was overwhelming with an emphasis on over. I looked at and thought back to that morning and struggling with the 20 wall balls and the number 30 in there was just too much. I had to look for a video about what in the hell a split jump was and I just shuddered. Fifty of them? I’m too old for this.

I even considered not going this morning. I’ve been three times already this week. Just because I promised myself four times a week, didn’t mean that three was bad. Three was still good and I had already done three and I just had a massage and … I set the alarm anyway.

So off I went to the box. Another foggy morning. It was 55⁰ at 5:30 this morning. New plan, wear fewer clothes to the box if the first number is a 5 or higher.

I began the day with stretching my knee a bit. Warm up was a 200 meter run and all the rowing machines were up and out of the way and so I did a 200 meter walk/jog. Then lunge down the mat and ten each of sit-ups, pushups, squats, and dislocates and passthroughs. My massage was already worn out by this point and there was a WOD still to do.

The WOD as written:

Every 30 seconds for 5:00 minutes (22 total reps):
2 Banded Deadlifts @ 55% + Band – DEMO VIDEO
Notes: Purple Band for DL up to 200#, Red Band for DL up to 300#, Blue Band for DL above 300#.
-then-
15 C2B Pull-ups
50 Split Jumps (alternating)
30 Wall Balls 20/14#
12 C2B Pull-ups
40 Split Jumps
20 Wall Balls 20/14#
9 C2B Pull-ups
30 Split Jumps
10 Wall Balls 20/14#
For time.

I need to push myself where I can. I put more weight on my bar for a total of 62# and did not use a band – until the last two. Then, amazingly, I used a purple band and managed to get two done. With the extra weight on.

I’ve been cheating on the ring rows and not keeping my body stiff and I tried to do better today. I figure it is rather like kipping, but that’s just justification. I got most of them done correctly but form over function is great until you can’t function and then form goes to hell in a handbasket.

I just did lunges and halved the number and used a ten pound medicine ball for the wall balls and halved that, too.

Even cutting back like that, it took me 12:48 to finish the WOD. I was the last one done by a long shot. However, there were only three people there today. So, technically, I did better than all those who didn’t show up.

It’s very thick fog and difficult to see out there. On the way home, I barely saw some pickup truck driving in the pea soup without lights on. He was already on a main road, but I hope someone got him to light up, as it were, before some poor idiot smacked into the fool. And of course, there were some biking children on their way to school with nothing but some reflectors on their bikes. I hope they made it to their destination, too.

I guess adjusting to the outside world it just too much work. At least for me, I’m all done WODding for the week and now have two days off to try to recover.

483247_10151210632561378_1627744443_n

