I am not yet an elite athlete. I am not yet where I want to be. But I am a CrossFitter and I did my best today which is something to be proud of, so I am. I was in beast mode, unfortunately that beast was a hamster, but some day I will be in beast mode and it will be a tigress.

I woke shortly before four and could not fall back to sleep no matter how many times I told myself to hurry up and fall back to sleep before the alarm went off. That may have been part of the problem. But regardless of the cause, I couldn’t sleep any more. It’s going to be a long day today.

Got to the box and did my knee stretch thing. Warm-up was different today. Ten wall balls with a run, this meant a wall ball, run the width of the mat and back, another wall ball, another run … ten times. I started my heart monitor and it said I had a heart rate of 198. Since I wasn’t even started yet, I knew that was wrong. But I couldn’t make it say anything different. Then it said I had a rate of 0. Since I was reading the thing, I also knew that was wrong.

I knew that at about wall ball number eight I was already winded. Eventually I restarted the monitor and got an accurate heart rate. When I finally got the thing to work, it agreed with me. But I could monitor myself a little better after that.

Rest of the warm-up was Ryan complex down the mat and then 10 PVC good mornings, 10 squats, 10 sit-ups, and finally dislocates and passthroughs.

The WOD as written:
15 minutes Hang Snatch technique work.
-then-
3 rounds for time of:
15 C2B Pull-ups
12 Burpee Over-the-Box Jumps 24/20″
9 Deadlifts 275/185#

I worked with a PVC pipe and attempted to go to a 22# bar for the hang snatch, but I couldn’t get very low on the squat and felt way too unstable. I worked some more with the PVC and by the end of the 15 minutes, my form was looking pretty good. Still not good enough to feel stable with the bar, however.

My choice for the WOD was to try banded pull-ups or do ring rows and I asked if I should do something I could do 15 of or something harder and we opted for me to go with the reps as stated and so I did ring rows. I hate burpees. I am graceless and get winded and dizzy with the up and down and the entire thing just is horrible. I also opted for no jumping on or over any size box. I added weights to my weights with my weights and had a 47# bar for the deadlifts instead of just 42#

I got through the 15 ring rows without problem. Then I hit the burpees and it was just icky. I did four burpees before beeping and then it was all downhill from there. I managed to get them done in four spurts and did the deadlifts without stopping. I was beeping before I finished, but I didn’t feel bad so I knocked them out.

Then round two. The ring rows were in two spurts, the burpees were killing me and there was no popping in and out and just looking horrific and my heart rate beeping and feeling all pukey and I have no idea how I managed to get 12 done, but I did. I then did the deadlifts and was going to call it quits, just two round in 12:14.

I sat there and panted like a lizard on a hot rock and thought that I hate to quit. I also knew I couldn’t manage 12 more burpees without puking and I still have to go to work today and I’m tired and I’m cranky and so two rounds should be enough. The WOD was three rounds.

I couldn’t manage 12 more burpees, but I did the 15 ring rows and the 9 deadlifts without the horrid burpees in the middle. I was done in 15:58 and dripping wet and panting and feeling old, but …

I didn’t stop at two rounds, I did as much as I could. And what is more amazing is that I did a whole lot more than I could have when I started. I’m a beast!

155860_10151199161841378_362764717_n

