This cold has been kicking my behind. I’ve done my best to ignore it, but it keeps intruding into my days which is annoying but more importantly into my nights which keeps me from sleeping. Night before last I may have gotten 3.5 to 4 hours of interrupted sleep, but it might not have been really that much. I’m counting dozing in my chair in there and I wasn’t really watching the time.

Last night I took cold medicine which I don’t usually do. It worked. I was in bed before 9 and fell asleep quickly what with being exhausted and all. I woke briefly a few times during the night, but could fall right back to sleep. The pills worked and I woke by myself at 5.05 and thought I might try the gym.

So I got up and ate some peanut butter and got dressed and made it to the gym. I was the only person there again and I made up my own warm-up since nothing was on the board. I did a 400 meter row and Ryan complex down the mat. I did 10 sit-ups and 10 pushups and that is when I knew I was going to be in trouble.

I know that my new kind of pushups are harder, that’s the point. But I can still do ten of them without falling apart. Except today, I couldn’t. I had to rest in there and try to breathe. I did some dislocates and passthroughs and then we were going to discuss how to scale this WOD for me.

The WOD as written:

1) Every 30 seconds for 5 minutes (11 total reps):
1 Power Snatch @ 80% (of max Snatch any style)
2) Every 30 seconds for 5 minutes (11 total reps):
1 Power Clean @ 80% (of max Clean any style)

10 minute AMRAP:
10 Power Cleans (95/65)
3 HSPU
10 Pull Ups
3 Ring Dips
10 Wall Balls (20/14)
3 Burpees

It has been a while since I did a power snatch and I tried it with a PVC pipe only and even with that almost fell over. I tried it again.

The whole thing may have been possible, but it wasn’t a smart thing to do. My head hurt. I couldn’t breathe. My knee hurt, but that was the least of my problems.

Sometimes discretion is the better part of valor. I told Christine that I just couldn’t manage it today. I was too sick to actually do a WOD. I came home, defeated by a microscopic virus. Something that isn’t even a complete cell unto itself.

Maybe tomorrow will be better. I hate to miss a day.

