I didn’t get to the box on Friday because I have a cold. I could not sleep on Thursday night and was up until 1 am and then up in the night and when the alarm clock went off, I didn’t have the power to get out of bed, let alone make a trip to the box. My leg boo-boo is mostly better but I can still tell I have an ouchie. I hope the medical jargon isn’t too intense there.

My cold has gotten different. I’m coughing a lot, but don’t feel too bad. I coughed all weekend and my voice sounds like it. Last night I was talking to my sister and mentioned I was going to the gym today and she said I really shouldn’t because I sounded horrible. I pointed out that I didn’t feel as bad as I sounded. I was planning on going and the worst that could happen was that I would have to come back home.

So at 5:15 and with the help of the alarm, I was up and getting ready to hit the box. I knew we were doing the 12 Days of Christmas today, but when I looked it up online, there were a variety of ways to make that happen. None of them looked particularly easy. I knew it would be a rough day.

There was a 5 o’clock class today and the WOD was long and everlasting and all that good stuff so they were still working when I showed up. I did a warm-up of a 500 meter row, couch sits, 10 pushups, 10 sit-ups and dislocates and passthroughs.

I waited for the big kids to get done and let me have the clock. Both Kim and Ryan were there and as I looked at the board and tried to figure out what I could do, Kim actually scaled the WOD for me and made me own little set of activities.

The big kids did it just like the 12 Days with day two doing two and then one, day three doing three, two, and one, etc. Kim thought I could just do the list once.

I don’t like to be that weenie, but I could see it was going to be really tough for this Little Old Lady. I thought I might make it as 12 Days up to day five and then run through the rest.

The WOD as written for me:

1 tire flip
2 hanging power cleans
3 squats
4 shoulder presses
5 pushups
6 push presses
7 dumbbell thrusters
8 wall balls
9 sit-ups
10 lunges
11 dead lifts
12 KB sumo deadlift high pull

There were three different sizes of tires and I used the smallest. I had never done a tire flip before. I used a 22# bar for my bar work, I did my progressive pushups (with an abmat under my chest but not on my knees anymore). I used two 10# weights for the dumbbells thrusters, I had a 10# wall ball but didn’t hit the line on the wall. And my KB was the 10# one.

I managed to do the real 12 Days routine up through day 9. After day 9, I went to day 12 and finished off the WOD. So I did 10 tire flips, 18 hanging power cleans, 24 squats, 28 shoulder presses, 30 pushups, 30 push presses, 28 too heavy dumbbell thrusters, 24 wall balls, 18 sit-ups, 10 lunges, 11 deadlifts, and 12 KB sumo deadlift high pulls all in 38 minutes and 13 seconds.

I was exhausted and it was 7 o’clock. I did more than I thought I could. I am so glad I went. I hope I didn’t spread any germs around to others. I tried not to breathe on anybody. And my big sister was wrong, I didn’t cough at all while working, I was too busy working it at max and being awesome.

images

