It was really nice to have several days off in a row. Off from work and off from working out. However, it made it especially difficult to get back in the box this morning. I knew that if I blew off one, I would slip into slugdom again. So even though I was up for two hours in the middle of the night for no good reason, I was also up at 5.15 in order to get to the box.

As an added bonus, it is really cold out there. Well, the first number was a 3 and that’s cold here in the balmy South. Regardless of the perils of outdoors, I got out of the house and arrived at the box with minutes to spare.

Today, Ricky and Sarah were there with me. Sarah was visiting from St. Louis and was leaving to get back home today. She wanted a workout in before leaving.

The warm-up was a 400 meter run so I did a 500 meter row. So did Sarah. Next was Ryan complex down the mat and then ten squats, ten pushups, ten med ball cleans, PVC push jerk and then dislocates and pass throughs, which are shoulder mobility things.

I looked at the WOD last night even though I told myself not to. They upset me and there is no reason to get upset because it is all scalable. But, I looked and I was upset. There were distributed, 30 STRICT pull-ups and 100 wall balls with either a 20 or a 14 pound ball. I can’t do a pull-up, so I was doing ring rows. But I get so nauseated with the up and down stuff that 100 wall balls was literally going to make me puke. I knew my weight would be different.

I’m terribly glad my sister teaches kindergarten because she said she looked at the WOD and if she was looking at the same thing, she thought I would be doing 60 wall balls. I’m not sure what she was looking at because here is the WOD as written. But hopefully, she isn’t teaching any higher math.

15 minutes to establish a 3RM Power Clean + Push Jerk (touch and go).

-then-
10 STRICT Pullups
10 Wall Balls 20/14#
8 STRICT Pullups
15 Wall Balls 20/14#
6 STRICT Pullups
20 Wall Balls 20/14#
4 STRICT Pullups
25 Wall Balls 20/14#
2 STRICT Pullups
30 Wall Balls 20/14#
For time.

I managed 42# with the clean and jerks.

What I did was halve the number of wall balls and use a 4# ball. But I didn’t count when I didn’t hit the red mark on the wall. I had to stop a couple times because I was dizzy and a several times for my heart rate to get back down. However, I did the whole thing without getting nauseous – mostly because I didn’t really full squat before throwing the ball. I finished in 11.16.

Ricky Rx’d the thing and Sarah finished before the both of us. Try as I might, I can’t help comparing myself to those around me which is often diminishing my own hard work. I might not have been the greatest sizzle at the box, but I lapped everybody sitting on the couch and even did much, much better than all those still snug in their beds. I’m happy with my results.

