I was pitiful today at the box. I’m so proud of myself. There was not one thing I did today that I could have managed in any way, shape, or form when I started this a couple months ago.

Today, Candace and Craig were there with me. The warm-up had me beeping, but that’s probably because I’m pushing harder on even the warm-up now. There was an option of a 400 meter run or a 500 meter row. The stars were shining and it was a beautiful, crisp fall morning out there. I rowed. I know there are a couple potholes in the parking lot and twisting my ankle was not on my agenda today.

The first rule of life is to know thyself. My self is a klutz and I need to protect me from me. Running in the dark when I’m graceless in the light is just not on my list of things to do. I row.

Lunge down the mat was next, ten jump squats (and by this time I was dizzy already), ten ring rows, ten sit-ups, and ten ball cleans (which is an odd movement and I’m sure there are movies out there that can explain it).

There is some problem with the website today so there was nothing posted last night and there is still nothing posted today. However, there was a WOD.

I believe it was another named WOD, but I thought I was going to be able to see it online and didn’t take a picture of the board.

WOD today as I remember it.

AMRAP in 30 minutes
5 dead lifts (I don’t remember the proscribed weight but it was high, I did 42#)
13 pushups
9 box jumps (24/20) I did my 14″ and really should have done just the 12″ box

Time started and I kept up right through the first 5 dead lifts, then the others went zooming past me. I was hoping to get five rounds in, but it went a bit faster than I thought. I had to rest often.

At one point, the  song ended and there was silence except for the beep-beep-beep noise. Craig asked what that noise was and Christine said it was my heart monitor. At least I don’t stand around doing nothing for no reason.

At the five minute mark, I had completed one round and was working on the second. I was sure I could get my five rounds in. I know the longer I work, the more frequently my heart rate escalates and so just multiplying time  doesn’t work. It is more exponential for my poor, old heart.

On round six (she says casually) I noted I should have not put the extra two inches on top of the box and Christine said I could take them off. But my own Craig says to carefully pick your weight (or in this case height) and stick with it. I stuck with it.

I finished round eight with five seconds to spare and a heart rate of 178.

I am so proud of myself. I never quit, I just rested until my heart rate would let me work some more. I had weights on my weight and height on my height. I still have to do girl pushups, but I do them with correct form.

I know that everybody else at the place is going to far surpass my reps. But I also know that everyone outside the box got zero and many, many people my age couldn’t have managed what I did today. I’m proud of myself for trying and for not giving up even when it is hard.

My work area, 42# dead lift, mat for push ups, and 14″ box and EIGHT hash marks

PS. I looked this up later in the day. It was a named WOD. In fact, it is a Hero WOD. McGhee.

