I don’t know why I get so upset. I look at the WOD, become overwhelmed, think to myself that I’m crazy to even be trying to do this, get all frustrated and angry, go to bed mad after stubbornly setting the alarm, end up at the box and do the WOD. Every. Single. Time. I do the WOD. Scaled, to be sure, but I do the WOD.

Candice was there today and so were two new guys. Ricky and Steve. At least those were names I could remember. I am not sure which one is which, but I got their names. That’s good.

I was beeping half way through the warm-up today. Okay, that was generous, I was beeping long before halfway through. We had to run up and down the mat ten times and I started first and ended last. Then we crab walked sideways up and down and then we went up and back lifting our knees to chest and then finished off kicking ourselves in the butt, which seemed terrifyingly appropriate. Next was ten pushups, ten pull-ups, ten sit-ups, and then shoulder mobility. All the young people waited for me to finish.

Next we gathered together an abundance of equipment for our workout. There was lots of equipment because what we did today was:

FGB – really – that’s all the website said. I had to look it up. I’m very good at looking things up because I have to do it often. FGB? Fucking Golf Balls? Fred’s Geography Book? Frankie’s Gorgeous Balloon? Not just no, but hell no. Fight Gone Bad.

Really? I’m going to do Fight Gone Bad. I was just freaked out by the entire concept. I’m getting used to The Girls – named WODs that are tough. So far, Heroes have been left off the board. But really, little old lady me doing Fight Gone Bad?!? What is wrong with me? Why even bother?

Because I’m stubborn. What, you ask, is Fight Gone Bad:

In this workout you move from each of five stations after a minute. This is a five-minute round from which a one-minute break is allowed before repeating. (This is a copy and paste and I am not responsible for the grammar.)

. Wallball Shots: 20 pound ball, 10 ft target. (Reps)
. Sumo Deadlift High-Pull: 75 pounds (Reps)
. Box Jump: 20″ box (Reps)
. Push Press: 75 pounds (Reps)
. Row: calories (Calories)
We did 3 rounds

I personally used a 4# ball and had a 22# bar for the lifts. I did my box jumps on 14″ and calories were just calories.

I spent at least half and usually more than half of each minute trying to get my heart rate back to something compatible with life. I was actually working about 20 – 30 seconds of each minute and trying to calculate when to stop to be able to get something out of the next minute. My heart rate topped out at 167 which isn’t so bad, but trying to get it back low enough to get some rounds in for the next thing was the trick. If I wait just to 159 and started again, I start beeping almost immediately. So part of this is strategy building.

When I began this, less than three months ago, I couldn’t hit any wall balls. I couldn’t lift a 22# over my head even once, I jumped on the two inches of weights alone, without the 12″ box underneath them. I know I’m getting better at this.

I really have to stop scaring myself the night before I work out. I also would really like a heart that pumped more efficiently. If I can get my other muscles to behave better, what is taking my heart so long. Ah, the joys of old age.

And just for the record, even with having to pause and rest and get my heart rate back down repeatedly, I got a score of 84.

