I am so proud of myself I could simply burst.

The first time I came to CrossFit Summerville was on August 25 for their free introductory class. I couldn’t do anything and did not manage to even finish out the hour. For some very odd reason, this didn’t make me think I couldn’t do CrossFit. I signed up for the three beginning classes.

I arrived on Monday for that so weakened and sore from the Saturday free class I couldn’t finish that I couldn’t even manage one squat. We had to work on arm things since my legs were barely able to keep me upright. I got through the three classes pretty miserably, but for some odd reason, I still didn’t think I couldn’t do CrossFit. I signed up for a membership.

I have been going regularly three times a week since the beginning of September. I could do almost nothing when I began. I needed a PVC pipe for support in order to do consecutive lunges. I could lift something maybe once or twice, but for any repeated lifting, I was with a PVC pipe and that was all I could manage. My heart rate monitor beeped constantly and I spent more time recovering than actually working. For some odd reason, I still didn’t think I might not be able to do CrossFit. I just kept going back.

My long term goal has been to lift something with weights on my weight. I’ve struggled with the 22# bar for all my moves and that’s been pretty much all I could do. For the last couple weeks, we haven’t been doing a lot of work with a bar, but the KBs have been in use a lot.

Today’s WOD as written:

*This is one continuous effort broken into 12 minute cycles which begin with a 800M run for time.
12 minutes to:
Run 800m – for time.
With the remainder of the 12 minutes:
Establish a 3RM Power Clean.

12 minutes to:
Run 800m – for time.
With the remainder of the 12 minutes:
3 attempts, for total reps, of UB Ring Dips.
Notes: Each attempt starts with full lockout over the rings, and finishes when the athlete drops off the rings. Score is the total of the 3 attempts.

12 minutes to:
Run 800m – for time.
With the remainder of the 12 minutes:
Establish a 1RM Push Press.

Last week I had weights on my bar for a deadlift. I managed that without as much problem as I thought and so today, I was going to try weights with my weight. I was also going to try running.

It was still too dark on the first twelve minutes, although dawn was breaking. I opted to row. I don’t do the whole thing because somebody has to scale these for me and so I do. I opted for 2/3 of the 1000 meter row (rows are 25% higher than runs) which put me at the great devil number of 666 meters.

By the next round, it was light enough that I could see the landscape and avoid falling down and hurting myself. So I ran/walked but only did half the distance. I thought I knew where that was, but I turned around a bit too soon and so really didn’t do a 400 meter distance. On the third round, I really did the right distance. For the runs, I made it about 100 meters and then 150 meters before my heart monitor beeped and then I walked briskly the rest of the way back, beeping all the way but not feeling bad.

I did 4:00 row, 42# 3RM Power Clean, 3:40 not quite 400 meter, 10 UB Ring Dips (with a band), 4:11 400 meters, and 42# 1RM Push Press.

I started each with 2.5 pounds on each side, went to 5, then 7.5, and scared the hell out of myself with 10 pounds on each end of the bar. This was my goal to reach by my birthday. I have seven more weeks before that milestone. I guess I need a new goal. So it will be to be able to squat with some weight on my weight by the time I’m 60.

