I was up in the middle of the night for no good reason. I finally fell back to sleep and was horrifically and rudely awakened by the terrifying noise of an alarm clock. I may have actually groaned at that point. I have to be careful, with all this working out I may squash the alarm too hard and crush the entire clock when I swat that noise off.

But I did manage to drag my butt out of bed. First thing I did was see what the temperature was. So I got my phone in front of my blind face and squinted to see that it was only 44⁰ here. Too cold for shorts today. Then I vacillated between short and long sleeves and ended up with short sleeves under my jacket. That was good plan.

Got to the box and there was one other car there. I was hoping somebody else would show up, but no. Poor Christine was stuck with just me. I suppose we could have just called it a day and both of us could have gone home, but after waking up in the middle of the night to work out, I worked out.

The warm-up was: 1000 meter row, Ryan complex, ten KB squats, ten sit-ups, ten of something else that for the life of my I can’t remember and then shoulder mobility stretches.

We practiced the various moves for the WOD and then began the WOD

1 Hi-Hang Snatch (full squat) + 1 Snatch Balance @ 80% of most recent 1RM.
Notes: Reps are at 0:00 – 0:30 – 1:00 – 1:30 – 2:00 – 2:30 – 3:00 – 3:30 – 4:00 – 4:30
-then-
2 minutes ME KB Snatch 24/16kg
-then (no break)-
8 minute AMRAP of:
8 Lateral Box Jumps 20″
16 OH Walking Lunges 45/25# (plate)
24 Pushups (hand release)
-then (no break)-
2 minutes ME KB Snatch 24/16kg

I tried practicing with the 22# bar and it was too much. There is STILL nothing less than a 22# bar except a PVC pipe. So, I used a PVC pipe.

I used a ten pound KB and managed 21 reps with my right arm

I jumped over a couple inch high barbell, had a 5# plate for the lunges, and did girl pushups. I only got through one complete round and then eight more jumps when my time was up. Then I managed 19 reps with my left hand.

Christine was on maternity leave for the last month-plus. She was also the person who did my three intro classes. So she knows exactly how much I couldn’t do when I started. She said I was doing much better now. I know I am because there are things I can do now that I couldn’t when I began. I also know that my heart monitor beeps less often. So I’m getting better, but it is hard to see the incremental improvement when it happens over time. However, Christine noted that I was doing much more than when she left to have a baby. For that, I get a gold star.

