Another successful trip to the box. It was successful because I’m not wounded and I was at the box. Both of those must happen to be considered, in my own book, as successful. If I can make my trips a success, I will keep going back and there is no way I can ever actually do the WOD, so I make up my own goals.

I guess that is either being proactive or self actualized or something existential. But really, it is just a way to make me feel good about this.

Our warm-up today was a 200 meter run in the dark, which I’m not going to do. I trip when it is light and I can see where I’m going. So I did a 250 meter row. Then we did a Ryan complex down the mat. I had no idea what it was. It is a lunge, lunge, squat, hands to feet with legs straight, inch out to a plank position, pushup, inch back up and repeat down the mat. I could do that once I knew what I was doing.

Then we did a sit-up, pushup tabata for four minutes. That’s 20 seconds of sit-ups, rest ten seconds, 20 seconds of pushups, rest ten seconds and repeat for eight rounds. Then we did shoulder mobility stuff.

From the website:
15 minutes chest to wall Handstand practice.

Notes: The goal is to find a position that is basically nose and toes to wall. If this is easy, then begin to try shoulder touches without allowing the torso or thighs to collapse against the wall.

-then-
1a) 3X7 Seated DB Shoulder press – heaviest possible, rest 30 sec.
1b) 3X7 Good Mornings – heavy, rest 30 sec.
1c) 3X20 BB Stepups 20″ (front rack)– heavy, rest 30 sec.
1d) 3X7 Weighted Muscle-Ups – heaviest possible, rest 30 sec.

So I gracefully asked what I should do since that chest to wall handstand thing wasn’t going to be happening. She had me on a 20 inch box and kneeling on that with my hands on the ground, lower myself and back up. I had been using a 12 inch box, so that was an increase. Then she said, “Get up on your toes.”

I had one abmat on the ground in front of my face so I would have a cushion if I fell, but I wasn’t really counting on falling. However, up on my toes was something else. The top of the box isn’t that big and getting purchase with my toes was tricky. I just looked at the ground way down there and told her I was scared half to death. Coach went and got four more abmats and made a little pillow pile for me to fall into. I got up on my toes barely. She was happy with that. I wasn’t.

I got up on my toes completely several times. I did not fall off the box. Finally the 15 minutes was over and onto the WOD itself.

I could see the easiest way to do 2/3 of the WOD was do only do the thing twice instead of three times. My dumbbell weights were 10 pounds, I did my good mornings with the 22# bar and did the step-ups with the same bar. This was the place I had to keep stopping for my heart rate. But that’s not so bad. The muscle ups were modified for putzes. I got through two rounds of this torture in 14 minutes and 34 seconds.

On the second round, I was really having issues with pushing that ten pounds in each hand up straight from my shoulder. My arms were shaking like leaves in a hurricane. But I pushed through and got them up. I had to stop twice in the step-ups (only once during the first round) and I kept dripping on the floor during my modified muscle ups. But I finished it and came home without wounds and was successful.

