I looked at today’s WOD last evening. The acronyms or words I didn’t understand were things I looked up and so I was pretty prepared for this morning.

After all my boo-boos in the past week, I opted to listen to others and contacted a chiropractor they recommended at the box. I called when I got to work on Monday to see if there was any time available. There was. And amazingly enough, the chiropractor’s office was visible from my office window – if the blind worked and I could see out the window.

It was closer to walk to the chiropractor than it was to walk to my car. I meandered on over there and he did some “hurts so good” things to my leg to make it move better and hurt less. He gave me some stretch thing to do and I have faithfully done it. I was also given some instructions for future behavior.

I wasn’t to squat until I came back to see him. My appointment is for 11:45 this morning. If I was doing something and it hurt, I should stop. It was rather embarrassing that someone needed to tell me that, but when I’m at the box, I do keep pushing myself and having permission to stop if needed was important. One would think pain was its own motivator for stopping but that one would not be a wannabe jock.

So off I went to the box. I even modified the warm-up some to avoid any squatting. I could do couch sits without problems because the front of my leg doesn’t hurt at all. But when I tried step-ups on a box, I could lead with my good leg without problem, but not with my hurt leg. Doing it with weight later was going to be an issue. We came up with a solution.

Today’s class:

15 minutes to establish a 3RM (touch and go) Power Clean.

-then-

1a) 3X10 Seated DB Shoulder press – heaviest possible, rest 30 sec.
1b) 3X10 Strict Weighted Chest to Bar Pullups – heaviest possible, rest 30 sec.
1c) 3X20 BB Stepups 20″ (front rack)– heavy, rest 30 sec.
1d) 3X10 Good Mornings – heavy, rest 30 sec.

Notes: Stepups are 20 total alternating steps. Use a challenging weight, but do not use so much that you allow the trail leg to touch the box before the stepping leg is fully extended.

I did a 22# bar 3 RM Power Clean.

My seated dumbbell shoulder press was with 10# weights, I did ring rows instead of pull-ups, I used the ten pound dumbbells and stepped up with my good leg and did a little dip thing with my bad leg, then I used two 5# weights and did the good mornings. That was the only place where I was too worried about hurting myself and held back. Stretching my hamstring with added weight seemed like a not good idea, so I held back on the weight.

I also scaled the reps and did 7, 7, 14, 7 for a time of 13 minutes and 47 seconds. My heart monitor was beeping on the seventh rep for the first two parts on the first round and by the sixth or fifth on the later rounds. I managed to get through the whole thing without having to wait too long between things to get my heart rate back down to no heart attack level.

I am unsure if I can get back to the box before next Monday. If I don’t go there, I’m going to have to be doing something here at home to make sure I do back slide too much. Good thing I have the jump rope.

