Today’s WOD scared me yesterday when I saw it. But I got up anyway because being scared is good for me or something like that. Anyway, I arrived at the box dark and early.

The warm-up included double unders. That is where the jump rope is to go under your feet twice while you are in the air. I never could do double Dutch jump rope either. I did manage to get a few consecutive jumps in since I practiced yesterday. But I only did one double under by mistake. I couldn’t repeat the move.

Then we practiced with a three position clean, but I wasn’t good enough with my form to try it with any weight. So I just played with a PVC pipe which doesn’t throw in any negative feedback for doing anything wrong.

Then the WOD as written:

Run 400m
21 C2B Pullups
12 KB Thrusters 24/16kg
Run 400m
15 C2B Pullups
9 KB Thrusters 24/16kg
Run 400m
9 C2B Pullups
6 KB Thrusters

C2B is “chest to bar” and since I’m not even up to chin to bar, this was so far beyond me that last night I had figured I was going to be doing ring rows.

KB thrusters is hoisting a kettlebell to your shoulder (one in each hand), doing a squat, then coming up and thrusting the weight above your head.

I don’t run anyway and on a dark, unlit road in the pre-dawn doesn’t sound like a good plan to me. So my workout consisted of:

500 meter row, 21 ring rows, 12 thrusters with 5 pounds of weight in each hand, 500 meter row, 15 ring rows, 9 thrusters, 500 meter row, 9 ring rows, 6 thrusters. I did that with a heart rate topping out at 172 and in 26 minutes and 38 seconds. The room only got twinkly gray once.

Perhaps I should have scaled the reps along with the movements, but I will never get stronger if I don’t push myself. So I pushed. I was spent and kept thinking maybe I shouldn’t do the last round since I was really tired and Jason and Chris had already finished. But, instead, I slowly walked over to the row machine and began the third round.

Baby steps. Today, many, many baby steps.

