I’m having a difficult time coming up with some successes for the day. I guess if I note that it is my day off and I didn’t have to get out of bed at all let alone at 5.15 am, then actually showing up at the box was a huge effort and a success.

But, in fact, I woke up shortly after 4 am and couldn’t fall back to sleep and so I wasn’t sleeping in anyway. Driving less than 3 miles doesn’t seem like all that much of an effort.

Warm up was a 500 meter row. I had issues with the display again. Some day I’m going to finally be able to get the rowing machine to show me what it is I want to see. Not today, however.

Next part of the warm-up was Ryan complex up the mat. Lunge step; lunge step; inch forward on hand keeping feet stationary until flat; do a pushup, walk your feet up to your hands; stand and do a squat. I guess here is a bit of a success. I still am very unsteady on this whole lunge walk stuff, but I’m not actually falling over like a drunk on a bender.

10 cherry pickers, easy for me to do
Lunge backwards down the mat, I looked like that same drunk in reverse
10 pushups
10 ball lunges – and I used a measly four pound ball

I’m not sure why there wasn’t any skill for the day, but there wasn’t, which may have been a blessing because I was being very unskilled. I had to stop twice during the warm-up because my heart monitor which is set for 160 started yelling at me.

The WOD:

5 rounds for total reps:

1 min AMRAP of:

5 Over the Box Jumps (down) 30/24″
10 KBS 32/24kg
5 Over the Box Jumps (back) 30/24″
5 Thrusters 135/95#

*Rest 1 minute after each round.

CrossFit Summerville: The Anvil doesn’t ever post anything but the most elite WOD. There is nothing ever posted as a scaled workout. Those two heights/weights are for men/women. There are people who do the Rx or prescribed workout so I know it is possible but I’m going to be a failure for a very long time, possibly forever.

I’ve been to enough garage games where the elite athletes compete to know that there are levels of competition. There is a difference between the Rx and the Scaled and there is a special set for Masters. But here, there is one workout and you can work from there. I know in my head that I’m not expected to actually be able to do that yet. But I feel so inadequate when I compare what I am able to do to this one unattainable goal.

I haven’t even been at this a month. I’m not supposed to be able to do the things that people who have been gym rats for years can do. And yet … especially today, I’m feeling like a total failure.

My WOD:

5 step up and down off an 8 inch box
10 10# weight in place of the kettlebell
5 step up and down off an 8 inch box
5 PVC thrusters

My heart rate monitor buzzed each rep either before or during the second set of step up on a low box. I never made even a whole series. I did 20 – 15 – 15 – 20 – 15. That’s a score of 85 of piddly squat.

I guess the only thing to do is keep trying because I refuse to give up. I wish I could feel a little better about my choice.

