I’ve written about failure or how much I suck for the last couple posts. It sounds like I’m having a horrible time and not doing anything to improve. Both of those things are wrong.

I did more squats today without my legs falling off or locking up. I can tell I was doing squats, to be sure, but I’m not already in pain. And if it does start to hurt, I know how to stretch, how to take a nice hot bath and relax the muscles, and how to drink lots of water to get rid of lactic acid buildup. So there is that.

Because it was earlier in the morning, it wasn’t quite as hot. When I got home and finally checked the temperature, it was hot and humid, but I escaped greater heat by being early. I like that plan. I’m a lark anyway and early for me is good.

I got up and made myself two eggs (in the microwave) and had an English muffin. Then I made sure I drank 16 ounces of water. I also had a hand full of smoked almonds before heading to the box.

Even more important than what I did today, is what I did yesterday. I rested, which was good. I also drank at least 64 ounces of water, but I may have filled my 16 ounce water bottle one more time, I can’t remember. When we went out to eat last night, I had a grilled chicken sandwich and sweet potato French fries. The bun wasn’t paleo and neither was the chocolate mousse. The mousse was much better than the bun.

What I didn’t do was order a glass of wine because I was sure that wasn’t going to make my morning go better. I’m not much of a drinker and this seemed like a bad time to choose one of my occasional drinks. Better to wait and try that later.

The other thing I didn’t do that I believe helped me this morning was I did not have any coffee before I left the house. I waited until I came home and had my coffee then.

I’m sure I want to do CrossFit. I’m not sure I want to go to a paleo diet. I would like to eat healthier, but I don’t know about giving up wheat (bread, pasta), rice and corn, and especially the milk in my coffee. I can eat more natural foods. I can eat less prepared foods. I can’t really eat much less fast food since I don’t eat much fast food at all anyway.

I can see about the diet later. I can know that it is a possibility on the horizon.

What I need is baby steps. I can’t do it all at once, but perhaps I can do it all eventually. Today, I did what I could and what I needed to do.

What am I going to do next? I’m signed up for classes now. I will be there at 6 am (Christine is the coach at that time of day and will help me scale). However, I’m not going on Monday. Wednesday, 6 am. I can.

 

