I’m getting the next week’s history blogs up and scheduled. There is an eye-catching notice that the background I’ve been using has been upgraded and I can get the new and improved version right here at WordPress.com and live happily ever after.

I looked at it. It is supposed to have all sorts of wonderful things for widgets, something I don’t use. I put up a picture to go with my writing. What I’m marketing here is my writing. So that is the part I would like to stand out.

What the maker of this skin wanted to market was not my writing. The side that “gives” and loses real estate is my stuff while the creators stuff remains right there taking up a larger proportion of the screen when I move to my smaller computer.

I’m unsure why I would want to go to all the trouble of writing something to have it be background for someone else’s superior coding skills. It isn’t usually what I’m thinking about when I take the time to actually write. When I write, I want my writing to have the front and center space of the blog. When I post, I want my post to be the focus of attention.

I’m unsure what I’m supposed to do with all the widgets. I don’t really care about all the widgets. I hate all the widgets that get in the way of my reading when I’m on other sites. I realize the internet has to pay for itself somehow and I understand the idea of advertising. I would love to be paid for my writing, but so far, I have resisted putting ads on my page because I think it distracts from – get this – my writing.

I have clicked on a few ads on pages. But I do it by mistake. I don’t like the ads. And I never know what has been hacked and what has been maliciously put up where. So I don’t click. At Arca Max, they have this really annoying thing when you visit the first time each day. They want me to watch a movie and there is a little notice saying “hold on while we load something to annoy the shit out of you” or something like that. I’ve learned how to click through quickly enough to never let it completely load.

I’m unsure who thought putting a talking ad on Wimp’s stuff is good but it is really, really stupid. You go over there to watch a movie and some ad movie talks over it. Now, who in their right mind thought this was a good idea?

All this is just some of the benefit of widgets. Or at least I assume that is what they are. I don’t see any of it as beneficial and so I’m not a big fan.

So, just to see what it would look like, I activated the new and improved thing on this blog and looked at on my little computer. It was, as I thought it would be, totally awful. Most of the screen was taken up by stuff other than my writing. The picture and writing didn’t work together at all because of the small space allotted to ME.

So I quickly reverted this back to the theme I had before and now feel perfectly happy about not “upgrading” to something that puts my writing, the whole point of the blog, in the background.

Now if I could only figure out how to get it to stop telling me about this great opportunity.

