I went to Wal-Mart. I never expect a trip to Wal-Mart to be an intellectual experience. That isn’t what Wal-Mart is. I expect a trip to Wal-Mart to be an excursion to pick up cheap stuff and to pick up so much of it that I spend too much money.

In that, my trip was successful. I did get everything on my list. But, of course, I didn’t stop with just the things on my list. I got seven or eight bags of stuff. But when one shops at Wal-Mart, one gets bags that aren’t even remotely full. They are just bags not full of stuff.

My oven cleaner (for the toaster oven – I slopped cheese all over it the other night) was in the bag with the napkins. There would have been plenty of room in there for a few more items, but they didn’t go in there.

No bag had more than four items in it. The food items were in one bag – peanut butter, hash brown potatoes in a box, instant mashed potatoes (I use that to thicken soups), and a box of caramel hot chocolate mix. It was the closest to a full bag I had and yet, I could have gotten a lot more in it myself.

My refrigerator stuff (shredded cheddar cheese and crappy bologna for LC) were in a bag by themselves.

There were a couple more bags. I got some stuff to crochet with – alone in a bag. Two bags of half price Halloween candy – alone in a bag.

My pomegranate (no price anywhere near the two separate four foot square displays of pomegranates, so I had to ask – $1.88 each) and my bag of loose nuts in the shell were all that were in the very bottom of another bag.

It is this that I want to talk about. There were several two foot square displays of nuts in the shell all packaged and ready for sale in one pound bags. Then there were four two foot square bins of loose nuts in the shell that were available for sale. I love this time of year. I love cracking the shells and making a mess with the shells.

I thought I would just get a few, not as many as when I was younger and calories weren’t an issue. So, I needed a bag. I looked. No bags. No bags anywhere near this entire aisle. I walked to the next aisle and got a bag. I came back to the nuts. No scoop. I managed to scoop the nuts into the bag and tie it up.

I’m not sure if Wal-Mart gives their employees an IQ test or not. But I think that maybe they might. And if your IQ is too high, they don’t hire you. At least they don’t hire you to stock shelves or walk the floor.

Last time I was there, I was looking for sesame sticks. The unhelpful clerk told me they might be over there. I knew I had gotten them from here the last time I bought them. He told me then they must not have any. I found them myself. Instead of a round clear plastic container, they were now in a square green bag. But they were, in fact, right there.

So today, I looked around the produce department to see if there were any Wal-Mart workers. I was in luck. There was a guy at least my age working with the apples. I went over to him and pointed to the loose nuts in a shell place.

“You have loose, shelled nuts for sale over there. But we really need bags to put them in and it would really help if there was a scoop provided so we could buy some.”

Blank look from the guy.

“Maybe you could go and find a scoop and grab a roll of bags and put both over there with the nuts.”

Guy thought long and hard while I looked at him, trying to give away my emotional state. Perhaps I should have shared my thoughts with him since he didn’t seem to have many of his own. He stood there and looked back at me and then … he had a brilliant idea.

“I will see if I can find some.”

I have no idea who set up this display for our shopping convenience. But really. Did they expect me to select one walnut and place it in the wire cart and see if it would fall through?

Shopping at Wal-Mart, the lowest – always.

