Walking is healthy. At least that’s the message I’ve received. “They” told me that. Regardless of whether or not it is true, walking is cheap and it is easy. No extra equipment needed. No need to drive off someplace to be able to walk. I can just crawl out of bed and be out the door within ten minutes.

I started this nonsense almost a year ago. I got really lazy during the winter. I’m not a devoted athlete. I’m just a fat, old lady who doesn’t want to be this fat.

I’m not really fat. I know I’m not really fat. I also know I’m not skinny. I used to be skinny. I used to be really skinny regardless of how many French fries or potato chips I ate. I also used to be an athlete. But now, I’m just an old lady who has eaten more French fries and potato chips than she has burned up as energy. So I weigh more than I want to weigh.

Therefore I walk. This really has nothing to do with being healthy. I really only want to be thinner, so I get myself out most mornings and walk.

But if I’m going to walk, I’m going to be a bit anal-retentive or possibly a tad obsessive-compulsive about it. Last year I rode my bike around on my paths and figured out how far they were. I have lost that list. Really, I have just misplaced that list, but I’m too lazy to go and find it.

I do have a watch that measures my time and I would see how long it took me to walk each of my measured paths and figure out how fast I was walking. The list is gone and I have added new paths. So this method is outdated.

Next, I decided I wanted to know how many steps I walked on each jaunt. So I got a cheap pedometer and it clicked with each step I took, marking off step by miserable step.

But NOW, I have some new technology. I have a fancy silent pedometer. I can wear it all day without clicking and driving me, and all those around me, nuts. My fancy pedometer tells me now many steps I take each day. It resets itself to zero at midnight and begins the count again. This is a nice feature.

A picture of my pedometer, but not with my data on it. I have topped 10,000 steps a couple times, though.

It also measures out my aerobic steps separate from my normal steps. It counts aerobic steps as those taken at a pace of more than 60 steps per minute for a sustained period of time ten minutes or more.

Because I really did measure the length of my stride, it will also measure how far I’ve walked each day. Ah, there is the conundrum. Did you see what it did there? It measures how far I walked each day.

Since I’m out the door within ten minutes of waking, there aren’t really too many steps in there being measured that isn’t part of my aerobic mileage. But, when it gets colder , I will begin walking after work again and then it will mess me all up.

The other thing I was interested in was comparing the time I take to walk each of my many different routes. I can either walk the big block, the huge block, out to Westcott, up to Dorchester , around The Farm, out to the fountain, and at least four other paths. And then I have been known to walk on the golf course, especially on garbage day so I don’t have to trip over the garbage cans these morons set directly, square in the middle of the sidewalk.

I would like to see if my time for various paths changes and I would like to see if my miles on the golf course change, since I usually walk so many minutes out and then just turn around and come back.

I made a spreadsheet to track this. The fancy pedometer will download to my computer and it tracks both my aerobic and total steps for each day along with mileage. That’s nice, but I wanted more specific information.

Creating my spreadsheet did involve math. Oh, the horrors! I had to actually look up how many inches are in a mile. In case you need to know, there are 63,360 of them. Since I have my spreadsheet, I will be able to track all my information as well as what the pedometer does for me.

I won’t be any healthier and I probably won’t be any thinner. But my OCD will be tamed. For now. Just for this second. I hope.

