I moved to South Carolina for many reasons. The major reason was that Dick was moving here and I thought after all these years together, I should tag along. His job transfer was desirable because it put us closer to the kids and because the weather was better.

Covered grill located on the patio, encased in ice, dripping mini icicles.

Overall, the weather IS better here. However, we don’t live in Paradise. There are some weather issues here that never bothered me in Ohio. We never had a hurricane in Ohio. We may have had leftover rain from a hurricane, but the hurricanes themselves were dissipated before reaching that far inland.

The weather is generally warmer here in South Carolina. That is nice in the winter, but it can be a bit of a problem in July, August, and September. Those muggy days with temps over 100° F without the extra push of a heat index can be draining. Fortunately, we have air conditioning.

In the winter months, the warmer climate is soothing. We don’t get as cold in the winter months as my sister and friends still located up in Ohio. While it is killer hot in the summer, we don’t have to shovel it. I love not shoveling.

However, there is something funny with the weather patterns. I guess with the melting polar ice caps, there is more moisture in the air, so it is raining more. I’m not a meteorologist and I just made that up. Do not quote it as real science. It just seems to make sense to me, a civilian.

I have no idea why the weather systems are shifting their usual pattern. Last year we had a snowstorm and kids were building snowmen here. They were pitiful by Ohio standards, barely the size of toddlers. They were not at all the size of giants I’ve seen in Ohio and Illinois.

There was a winter storm advisory for my area last evening, this morning, today, and into tonight. I didn’t much worry about it, however. I figured if the weather was snowy, I would take the HHR and leave the Miata carefully parked in the garage. Those little sports cars with rear wheel drive aren’t much good in the snow.

I woke up around six this morning and looked out the front windows. Nothing. Streets entirely dry. Plants swaying in what was obviously some wind. No snow. No ice. No wet.

I let the dog out about 6.30 and it was dry out the back, too. By the time I let her back in, it was sleeting – but only in the back yard. The front of the house showed completely dry pavement.

The storm moved slowly into the front yard. Dick was watching a local Summerville TV station with some guy standing out by Main Street and talking about the iced roads and the accumulating sleet. As the storm over the town (and surrounding area) it caused quite a bit of havoc. As a side note, our office is located on Main Street. How quaint, huh?

There are signs all over the north: “Bridge freezes before roadway” they proclaim. Because of the chilling effect of cold air surrounding the overpass, the roads so exposed freeze to a nice sheen of black ice. They do have some signs down here, but I doubt most locals have internalized the message. Bridges are always more dangerous. Do not slam on brakes on a bridge unless you are trying to spin donuts.

They began closing major roadways because almost everything here has a bridge along the way at some point. I’m on the coast with rivers running to the ocean. There are very few “back ways” here because everything needs to pass over flowing water somewhere and bridges are expensive.

As more roads closed, Dick and I talked more and more about my traveling into Summerville to work. I got a phone call from Boss B who lives right on the water. He has many bridges to pass between his house and the office. They had just closed 526, the major road he must use to get to work.

Several roads in Summerville were also closing as overpasses froze solid. Neither boss was going in to work and I should stay home, as well.

So here I sit, in my warm South Carolina house, freezing. Ice is encasing the tree branches. Roads are treacherous. I’m safe and sound at  home.

