I’m tired. I’m not sick and tired. Just tired. I didn’t get enough sleep last night.

I was sitting in my chair crocheting and could barely keep my eyes open. I was trying to drift off to sleep. It was 8:30. I struggled to keep my eyes open. The repetitive task of crocheting wasn’t going to do that for me, so I laid that aside.

I started playing a computer game and got to the end of it. Then I opened up my browser and there was a lively discussion on Facebook. I participated in that until well after 11.

I also switched back and forth between Fark and Facebook during the later evening and caught some weird articles to amuse me as I waited for the next post at Facebook.

Wide awake night owl instead of a glorious lark

I went to bed before midnight and as soon as I pulled back the covers and climbed in, I was wide awake. I tossed. Then I turned. Then I tossed some more. I was tired, but not sleepy. I was exhausted but wide awake.

I contemplated getting up and looked at the clock, it was 12:38 and I was wide awake. But I was determined not to get out of bed and forget to sleep at all.

I don’t know what time I drifted off to sleep, but I was awake at 5:34 this morning. I know there are people who function perfectly well on five hours of sleep. I am not that person. So I got up and went to the bathroom and then crawled back into my nice warm inviting bed. I did not fall back to sleep. Perhaps I was trying too hard.

I got out of bed around 6:30 and just have to realize it is going to be a sleepy sort of day. I will probably be really tired by 8:30 tonight, but that will be too early to go to bed. I will do something that wakes me up and then I won’t be able to fall asleep when the clock says it is okay.

Or maybe, things will go smoothly and I will drift off around ten and sleep until nearly seven tomorrow, when the alarm goes off at 6:50.

 

