I just finished listening to Last Words by George Carlin with Tony Hendra and performed by Johnny Heller.

I have always enjoyed George Carlin’s work. He is one of the few comics I have gone to see live in concert. I had some of his albums long before there were CDs out there. I could hear his voice throughout his autobiography.

It was entertaining and told much of the back story we more casual fans didn’t know about. I enjoyed the book, but …

George repeatedly said he was people person rather than a property person. He chooses people over property. We need to take care of each other and not worry so much about property.

George did not like Ronald Reagan or his administration and he despised the corporate honchos who road in first class with him as he toured the country. He actually said that.

George, you were in first class while you were despising these other people. There is some irony there.

The part I am confused the most about is where he spent quite a long time talking about his taxes. For a few years when he was so coked up he barely functioned, he had some accountants taking care of his money. They sent monthly statements, but he didn’t open them. If he had, he would have known how much money he didn’t have.

The accountants deferred his tax payment for a year, and then the next year, George still didn’t have the money (he was trying to develop a film and spent all the money he had on that) and so they deferred the tax payment again.

During all this time, the taxes were still due along with penalties and interest. George said it took nearly two decades to pay off his tax bill and he seemed to think the government should have let him off without paying what he owed, like they do for many other Hollywood people.

Why are any Hollywood people not paying their taxes? They make millions and have to pay lots to the government. That is so sad. There have been years (okay every single year since I turned 16, got a job and had to start paying taxes) when I would like to have just skipped that part.

But since I’m a responsible adult, I pay my taxes. These taxes go to pay for all the stuff the people who don’t work need to have. Since they can’t get it for themselves, I work to make sure they are provided with Food Stamps and Medicaid along with Section 8 housing.

I must say, I don’t particularly like paying taxes and I’m usually a bit disgruntled by having to support able bodied people who simply don’t want to work. Perhaps having babies beginning when you are a young teenager, not finishing even high school, and not having the father around to help support these kids is a bad choice. It isn’t a choice I made, but I can see why some insist I should support you in the choices you made.

What I don’t understand is why these same people, like George, who claim to be people over property would even dream of not paying their taxes along with any penalties and interest on monies due. If I can’t keep all of my money after working for it, why would you even begin to think you shouldn’t contribute to the general welfare as well? Especially if you claim this is your belief system.

I prefer the “responsible for the consequences of your choices” type of system. When you make bad choices, you get to reap the consequences. Whether those bad choices are to squander your talent for a decade while you do so many drugs you forget to look at your accounting statements while spending millions of dollars on a pipe dream, or whether they are simpler boo-boos like not remembering to finish your education.

I’m still baffled by George’s rancor over having to pay his tax bill. I wish I could find out his rationale for this. The only way we can provide the services to all the people is for the government to collect the money from the taxpayers, waste a bunch of it on red tape and weird shit, and then dole some of it out to the deserving people out there.

