Sometimes things just happen. Sometimes we are lucky and they are good things; sometimes we aren’t quite that lucky and they are not all that wonderful. Sometimes they are simply devastating. But things just keep happening.

Last year, while shopping for a dress to wear to Tom’s wedding, I found more than one. I opted to wear the black and white one, but I also bought a pink/purple and white dress that was quite similar. They both were really just a bit more dressy than I wear on a regular basis. They aren’t “elegant” or over the top but not something I would wear to work when nothing of import was happening. And they are both sleeveless, so winter wear is out of the question. It has been a pretty slow summer, so I haven’t had any need for something a bit upscale. In fact, I’ve been wearing Capri pants to work quite often. So I’ve been dressing down, rather than up.

Paid for dress with anti theft device still attached

Yesterday was just the perfect day to wear my fancy pinkish and white dress. I even got so far as to put it on when I felt something really lumpy. The anti-theft tag was still on the dumb thing.

On a side note, it could have been worse. I could have packed the pink and white instead of the black and white, and been in Florida with a dress with an anti theft tag still attached to it and nothing else to wear to a wedding. So, all things considered, this wasn’t the end of the world.

But I couldn’t wear it to work like that. So I took it back off and found something else to wear. Somehow I managed to find something in my closet that would work. Who knew?

But I was quite worried about the dress. I don’t have a sales receipt from over a year ago. What was I supposed to do? I can’t just pull it off, because there is dye in there, which is what makes it work. The dress was on sale when I bought it. They always are. And I had coupons, too. That was why I bought both dresses. So I don’t remember exactly how much I paid for it, but I really wanted to wear it a few times – at least.

I figured I would approach the store and hope they would help me out. Last night, I looked online and found their phone number. I called and spoke to Steve. I explained my problem and he said they usually require a sales slip before removing a tag, but since it was so long ago, he would make an exception.

So, I’m going to make a trip out there and take my dress back to Liz Claiborne and hope today goes as smoothly as last evening. I’m hoping to get the plastic off the dress. While there, I may just have to shop some more.

I’m still looking for plain colored skirts in something other than black. And I wouldn’t mind some black, brown, blue, and/or white low heeled dress shoes. So I can spend my day spending my money.

I sure hope I don’t have to come back here with some sad tale. But you know, things are always happening.

