I’ve been walking every day for nearly two weeks. Which looks really unimpressive written that way. I mean, almost two weeks. That’s not a big deal. Except we all have to start somewhere and where I started was almost two weeks ago.

I began walking once around our not really a block. It took ten minutes. I did that a couple days. Then I walked around the block twice a few days. I was already getting bored. Being bored meant I would soon quit.

So I varied my route. Each day this week, I’ve headed out in a different direction. Some day I’m going to run out of directions to go, but that won’t be for a few more days, at least, and then my other routes will be able to be used again. I may make up a routine of routes, but that might get boring.

I have written about cars parked over the sidewalk already. Yesterday was garbage day and I have no idea why people put their garbage cans on the sidewalk instead of on the tree lawn area. It doesn’t help the garbage crew and it certainly annoyed me. I didn’t count how many garbage cans I had to walk around, but it was more than cars parked over the sidewalk. In fact, on the path I took yesterday, there were zero cars parked over the sidewalk. But lots of garbage cans on the sidewalk.

Today, my path took me to the back entrance to my road. This meant I walked past houses like my own, all with two car garages. And a mandate from the Homeowners Association stating all garbage cans have to be hidden away within 12 hours of the garbage pickup. There were three garbage cans still out, but the garbage collectors left the cans on the tree lawn, so they didn’t bother me. I just wonder if these people get a nasty-gram from the HOA (I’ve gotten one of these for garbage can rule breaking which apparently lowers house values by nearly 50% or something).

There was one car over the sidewalk where there was a two car garage. Then I got to smaller houses with only a one car garage. I was thinking to myself, “You are going to just be walking in the street.” But no. There was only one car parked across the sidewalk where there were only one car garages.

But after that small group of houses are garden duplexes. These are even smaller houses without any garage. I was geared up for being all annoyed and walking around cars or staying in the street, but there was not even one car parked over the sidewalk in this area.

At one point, there was almost a traffic jam. I was on the sidewalk. Russell was walking Baxter and they were on the other side of the street. Some guy I had passed on the way out, was walking back to wherever he had come from, and a woman behind him was going somewhere carrying her purse. All this and it wasn’t even seven o’clock in the morning. Busy people everywhere.

Is this my future?

So on my way back home I started thinking about what I was doing. I did weigh myself as I started this nonsense. And I weighed myself yesterday. I have lost 1.3 pounds which isn’t all that wonderful. But on a brighter side, I have not gained any weight at all. It is the first time in a while that I saw a smaller number on the scale than the last time I had taunted myself with that figure, as it were.

I don’t want to gain any weight so that is a great thing. Smaller numbers are good. I would like a number about 20 pounds smaller than when I started, but that’s going to take a bit more work than a couple weeks of walking early in the morning.

That led me to the thought of what am I going to do if the weather doesn’t cooperate. I am walking early in the morning to beat the heat. That’s working for me right now. And so far, it hasn’t been raining in the early morning. I know it will get colder and then I will wear more clothes as I walk and may eventually walk after work. But that is a dangerous thing. I’m not already worn down in the morning before I go out in the world. I start the day this way and don’t have time to talk myself out of it. But what am I going to do in the rain?

So far, I haven’t been confronted with this problem. There is no place I can go to walk indoors. To get to a mall where I could walk is a 30 minute drive or thereabouts, and I’m not all that excited about driving for an hour so I can walk for 30 minutes. That means my walk consumes too much time when I could be sitting around wondering what I can safely eat.

So I don’t know what to do with the rain. Perhaps I’m just going to have to walk in it. Looking like I don’t have enough sense to get out of the rain. But if you are walking around at 6:30 AM, maybe that’s a good definition.

