I wanted clean wine glasses.

I have a China cabinet with glass shelves, mirrored back, glass paned doors, glass panel sides. It shuts tightly, but apparently isn’t air tight.

I don’t know how or why, but film forms over everything. There isn’t any visible dust, but a darkening film. So, my first couple wine glasses, the ones that get used every once in a while, were clean. The rest had a film on them.

I wanted clean wine glasses.

First I was only going to do the white wine glasses. Then I decided I used the red wine glasses, too. What the heck.

I emptied the dishwasher of the clean dishes and loaded the top rack with all the filmy white and red wine glasses. Then I took the martini glasses and put them in. Then the bottom rack was empty.

I know why the bowls sitting out get a film on them. It is the kitchen and grease just happens while we cook. And the grease makes a film and then the dust sticks to it and makes an even lovelier mess. So, I filled the bottom of the dishwasher with some of the bowls.

I started the dishwasher and then noticed how there were clean spots on the shelves in the China cabinet. This couldn’t be good. And the champagne glasses looked horrible. I was going to have to clean the entire thing.

I took out all the pretty bowls on the top shelf and hand washed them. I hand washed the champagne glasses. I actually use the China itself so it doesn’t get as icky and didn’t need to be washed – except for the sugar bowls that felt funny when I picked them up.

So I got out the glass cleaner and furniture polish and cleaned the cabinet.

I then looked around at the rest of the pretty bowls sitting on top of the kitchen cabinets and figured if half of them were going to be washed, the other half might just as well get cleaned, too. And the sink was already full of hot, soapy water.

Kitchen cabinets full of clean serving dishes

So I climbed up and down and up and down again until I had all the dishes washed.

The dishwasher still isn’t done running so this took me less than an hour to do. But it is a major undertaking and I hate doing it. However, I love the way it looks when I’m done. So it isn’t all lost.

It took a bit longer after everything dried to put it all back together again. I did a bit of rearranging with some of the pretty bowls. There isn’t as much leeway for all the wine glasses. A ridiculous amount of wine glasses, considering how rarely I drink. But they are available should the need arise.

I have clean wine glasses.

Sparkling clean China cabinet - inside and out

